The Dark Knight Rises – a late review

Hang on, this will not be a straight-up review but more of a
blog-slash-review instead.

Why?

First of all, I know this is kind of late. Secondly, it’s not easy to make a
review of a film with this magnitude. Say one negative comment and avid fans
will terrorize you.

Side story: I saw the film last July 21, so this is kind of a back track.

We all agree the movie was great, yeah? They say it was epic; best Batman
movie ever; Nolan should direct every action hero film – In short, it’s
gotten generally positive reviews.

And I agree. I enjoyed it immensely. It has all the elements that you’ll be
looking for in a good movie: superb action scenes, touch of drama,
bit of comedy, love story, struggle, triumph, everything.

It was a bit too long, yes. But I thought the story was well-written that it
was forgivable. The casting was good too. Tom, Joseph, Gary and Anne
stood out. Oh, and Marion of course. She’s always great in every film, love
her.

In short, you’d have to be crazy not to see it. It’s a good conclusion
to The Dark Knight series. What more could a Batman fan ask for? Nothing.
Nolan gave us everything.

I’m sure we all noticed that almost the entire Inception cast was there. In the
cinema I was like “Tom? Joseph? Marion? Cillian? Inception?” Then I remember
that Nolan directed it too! Why not get the actors you’re already familiar
with, right? I’d do that too if I was the director.

And I’ve also read that Nolan initially wanted The Riddler to be the antagonist of this last film, but opted for Bane instead. Good choice there since Bane was like the ultimate enemy — brains and power combined. Plus, he wanted Leo to play Riddler? Woah! that would’ve been like Inception part 2. LOL

Now let’s talk about what we didn’t like about the film, shall we? This is a
critique after all :)

*drum-roll*

I personally think that some of the dialogues were a bit lengthy. C’mon, Alfred had like what? 3 long and teary moments? I like his character but I felt that they had to squeeze in a LOT into his lines – seal the loop holes.  I get that they had to establish how much he loves Bruce; how he wanted him to live and surrender the cape etc. And how come he almost didn’t say anything
in the old Batman films and now suddenly become so talkative?

(Just my opinion, don’t get mad at me)

Moving on to Robin, he has so many unnecessary and lengthy lines as well! And not to mention way too many close-ups! (I know Joseph Gordon-Levitt is a good looking chap, but…) Yeah, yeah they had to establish his story too so the next
Batman movie (if there will ever be) can pick up from it. But some parts were boring…

Bane was great. However the story of him and the prison-with-no-escape was a bit
dragging. Do they really have to show it over and over again? (We’re not dumb, we get it, it’s hard to escape from that prison)

Bruce’s recovery was a bit of a drag too (sigh…) The underground prison scenes where they tell the story of Ra’s al Ghul was a bit forced. (or maybe it’s just me?)

And those police were trapped underground for 3 months? (Okayyyy…) If I were trapped underground for 3 months I would probably have removed my badge, cap, uniform and be walking around on my underwear. I’m not even kidding. ( This scene was way fictional)

Anne was a delight to see since she’s so gorgeous, that’s given. Safe performance. (Or maybe Michelle Pfeiffer was just so damn creepy  in that cat suit it hard to forget?)

*Let’s shift the gear now :)

On the lighter side…

I think Batman’s motorcycle and flying car was beyond cool. I also like the
humor between Catwoman and Batman. Since there were very little humor in the
entire film.

“So that’s what it feels like” at the rooftop was hella funny.

Over-all verdict?

I would still give it 3.5 out of 5 stars. The movie started in a slow pace,
but the plot thickened towards the end. They could have edited it better, and
deleted unnecessary scenes. But nevertheless, it just may be the perfect ending for
our caped-crusader, our Dark Knight. Gotham has finally accepted Batman as the hero
that he truly is and he in return, he’s been able to live a normal and happy
life.

 🙂

Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless handheld

watched TDKR when it was raining heavily outside. I was so dressed-down 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Dark Knight Rises – a late review

  1. I was hoping I could come up with something witty but I’m getting distracted
    aherm…I’d like to comment on the photo….
    Batman is taller than you.
    the dark knight rises indeed
    hehehe

Leave a comment